February 27, 2015

  • I was seriously watching Star Trek when I heard. Original series, season 2 episode 21 Patterns of Force, to be exact. ******* comes into the room and tells me to pause it. He has his phone and I think its gonna be some stupid youtube video. But its not. Its Leonard Nimoy's obituary. I have never cried this hard for someone Ive never even met in person. But it feels like I knew him, considering how much Star Trek shaped my understanding of life, the universe, and everything. I grew up on DS9, but watching any version of Star Trek feels like coming home and, especially considering how I really didnt have a home until recently, I cannot begin to express the depth of this feeling. Leonard Nimoy made every character he played come to life in an iconic way, most notably Spock, but William Bell from Fringe also immediately jumps to mind. He was these people so completely, and thus, he was my mentor, comrade and hero. He has been, and always will be, my friend. May he find the light- and prosper- in his lives beyond this.

Comments (6)

  • I was greatly saddened by this loss as well. Being much older than you I met Spock as a child sitting in the floor in front of our TV on the original series. He is one of the few famous people I felt the need to acknowledge on my fb when he passed. I feel very much that my friend has passed. peace always to you

  • Spock was just one of those people that touched everyone who saw him. My four year old daughter recognizes him from watching Star Trek with me. Thank you for your response though. I'm the big Trekkie in my family and group of friends, so for a while I felt really alone in how deeply his death affected me. I know you're leaving xanga soon, Im even considering it myself, though the thought alone pains me. I hope we stay in touch though. :)

  • @goddessofthelight: I know what you mean about Spock. I realize he was a character played by Nimoy but he had a profound effect on many fans. At least I think so. And Nimoy had many talents. I understand he wrote poetry but I've never read any of it. I need to put that on my list of poetry to seek out. I enjoyed his guest appearance on The Big Bang Theory even. Little things would be so cool to me.

    We do influence our children with what we watch :-) . All my children knew Star Trek early on. My oldest son is a big fan but also critic, too. That's his personality.

    Yes ... my time is running out on Xanga :-( . Not a happy feeling. It's hard. I hope to reply to your email soonish! :-) . peace to you

  • Wow. I'm ashamed to say, it never even occured to me that you might have other children besides Kendra. How many? What are their ages? If I may ask. I only have the two, my daughter and my two-year-old son. Yes, Star Trek is an essential piece of our lives, it was one of my first moral compasses. I too should seek of Leonard Nimoy's poetry. I listened to some of his music after he past, it was very unique.

  • His passing was another marker for me. I have seen too many of those who have influenced my life, pass. Soon enough we all must, but it is strange at this point... illogical

  • @Blue_Moon1: This is the first time someone who has this much influence on my life has passed. I shudder to think of loosing more, but as you said, all things must come to an end.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories